Jasper Jones, by Craig Silvey

Blogging for a Good Book

Charlie Bucktin is a loner. He’s a smart, bookish boy who doesn’t have many friends in his small Australian hometown in the 1960s.  He’s working his way through his father’s library of classics when a knock sounds on his bedroom window. Charlie is surprised to find Jasper Jones, the town’s “bad boy,” asking him to slip away into the night and lend him a hand.

The story unravels a mystery and the events lead to Charlie uncovering many adult secrets. The knowledge forces him to grow up quickly in the face of racism, adultery, abuse, and disappointment.

“I would have been free of all this.  I would have stayed safe in my room.  I might have read a little longer.  Then I would have slept like I used to.  I would have woken as I normally would have.  None the wiser.  Much the lighter.  I’d never have known Jasper Jones, I’d never have…

Ver o post original 242 mais palavras

Deixe uma resposta

